Election Information

Landowner Election

Initially, the Board of Supervisors was designated in the petition seeking establishment of the District. Within ninety (90) days thereafter, the Supervisors were required to be elected on an at-large basis by the owners of the property within the District. Each landowner is entitled to one (1) vote for each acre of land owned by him or her and located within the District (with fractions thereof rounded upward to the nearest whole number). The two (2) Supervisor candidates receiving the highest number of votes were elected to four (4) year terms, with the three (3) Supervisor candidates receiving the next-largest number of votes receiving two (2) year terms. Thereafter, every two (2) years as terms expire; Supervisors are elected by landowners within the District.

During this phase, the only requirements of candidates are that they be Florida residents and United States citizens.

General Election

Commencing six (6) years after the initial appointment of Supervisors and once the District attains a minimum of two hundred and fifty (250) qualified electors; the positions of two (2) Supervisors whose terms are expiring are filled by qualified electors of the District, and are elected by the qualified electors of the District for four (4) year terms. A “qualified elector” in this instance is a registered voter who is a resident of the District and the State and a citizen of the United States. The remaining Supervisor whose term is expiring will be elected for a four (4) year term by the landowners within the District and is not required to be a qualified elector. Thereafter, as terms expire, all Supervisors must be qualified electors and will be elected by qualified electors and serve four (4) year terms with staggered expiration dates.

Candidates for the general election seats must be residents of the District and must have met the general criteria the Supervisor of Election requires to be a candidate on the ballot. That criterion includes, but is not limited to, the filing of a financial disclosure form, declaring a campaign treasury, and paying filing fees. For more information regarding these requirements, please contact the Lee County Supervisor of Elections’ Office. Landownership is not a requirement.


Notice is hereby given that the qualifying period for candidates for the office of Supervisor of the Portico Community Development District (“District”) will commence at noon on June 10, 2024, and close at noon on June 14, 2024.  Candidates must qualify for the office of Supervisor with the Lee County Supervisor of Elections located at the Melvin Morgan Constitutional Complex, 2480 Thompson Street, 3rd Floor, Fort Myers, Florida 33901; Ph: (239) 533-8683.  All candidates shall qualify for individual seats in accordance with Section 99.061, Florida Statutes, and must also be a “qualified elector” of the District, as defined in Section 190.003, Florida Statutes.  A “qualified elector” is any person at least 18 years of age who is a citizen of the United States, a legal resident of the State of Florida and of the District, and who is registered to vote with the Lee County Supervisor of Elections.  Campaigns shall be conducted in accordance with Chapter 106, Florida Statutes.

The Portico Community Development District has Three (3) seats up for election, specifically seats 1, 2 and 3.  Each seat carries a four-year term of office.  Elections are nonpartisan and will be held at the same time as the general election on November 5, 2024, and in the manner prescribed by law for general elections.

For additional information, please contact the Lee County Supervisor of Elections.

Vacant Seat #1 Nov 2020 - Nov 2024
Chris Hasty Seat #2 Nov 2020 - Nov 2024
Scott Edwards Seat #3 Nov 2020 - Nov 2024
Barry Ernst Seat #4 Nov 2022 – Nov 2026
Lamar Cummings Seat #5 Nov 2022 – Nov 2026

Adobe Acrobat Reader

This site provides information in PDF format. For your convenience, we have provided a link below to get the free Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Get Adobe Acrobat Reader

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.